Dude, I was using those! @github

So recently GitHub has removed some features:

https://github.com/blog/1302-goodbye-uploads

https://github.com/blog/1323-retiring-impact-graphs

While I want to make sure everyone knows that I still love Github, since they host all Salt development very well and we don’t need to pay them money, I would like to just say…

I WAS USING THOSE!

Github has been one of the main places to download Salt code and packages for Salt for a long time, and the impact graph, I LOVED that thing! I used it on a regular basis to showcase how exciting Salt is and how many people are actively contributing, I really miss it!

In the end, I just want to say, I deeply appreciate github, and all I want are some of my features back, that’s all…

 

Thomas S Hatch

One response to this post.

  1. Downloads were Salt’s official release avenue and Debian’s official source for Salt. Now a little hustle must happen. It’s tough but it’s also tough to hate on Github and I don’t think I’m too much the devil’s advocate for saying I understand the move; to some extent it was a free upload/download space that could easily have been abused.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 97 other followers

